Rhapsody for violin and orchestra

for violin & orchestra (1977)
Composer Facsimile Edition, 13 minutes

“dark, angular…the rhapsodic quality the title promises…” (The Berkshire Eagle)

Rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra (1977) is a single, tense and restless movement. It was first performed at Williams College by the Berkshire Symphony Orchestra under Ron Feldman’s direction with Tim Baker, violinist.

It is written in three main sections separated by transitions and a cadenza, and begins with an introduction. Of the three main sections that follow, the first is the richest in terms of material, containing the rest of the movement in embryo. The Rhapsody cadenza attempts to follow an early tradition of cadenza writing, exploring the expressive range of the violin rather than its technical potential. The conclusion is short and intense, based primarily on the double-dotted motive from the beginning which appears even at the moment of cadence in greatly augmented form.

Complete Score

To order the score: elizvercoe@yahoo.com

See details on website for: 20th century violin concertos